Read personal wedding reviews on suppliers, venues and services in your local area used by fellow brides who have had their special day and want to share their expertise and experiences with you brides to be.

Showing all Bridal Shop reviews for Maids to Measure in London
Address: Maids to Measure
  Unit C2, The Depot, The Gasworks, 2 Michael Road
  London
  London
  SW6 2AD
 
Tel: 02077513097
Web: www.maidstomeasure.com
 Add your own review for Maids to Measure
Fantastic    
Thank heavens for Maids to Measure a breath of fresh air in an otherwise exhausting search for bridesmaid dresses.

Most of my friends recommended Maids to Measure and I fought the temptation to have the same but actually found no other options as I didn't want High St dresses (or couldn't because my bridesmaids are different shapes and sizes). The appointment is great fun in a random space in Fulham. It was actually a nice excuse to sit down with the girls and have a relaxing time trying on dresses and choosing colours etc. We settled on some very cool dresses that looked amazing on the girls and the main thing was they were happy or so they said!

Dresses came sooner than I thought and fit the girls beautifully, we didn't actually go for the made to measure service we just ordered standard sizes but they still needed very few alterations. I really was over the moon and couldn't have been happier, the quality was beautiful as was the attention to detail.

Maids to Measure is by far the best out there and can't recommend enough.
Christina - 07/04/2016
At last...a brilliant bridesmaid boutique!    
It was only by chance I heard about Maids to Measure (from a colleague at work) and so glad we did. I'd been having a nightmare on the high street, my bridesmaids are tall and I hate with a capital H dresses that don't hit the floor, paired with the fact that I've seen certain dresses time and time again, I was so relieved when I visited the Maids to Measure studio. Hidden away in an old gasworks its location is quirky but a hidden gem, away from the hustle bustle of the high street we could actually sit down and focus on the task in hand! The girls there are super friendly and so helpful they really know what they're doing and even my trickyest bridesmaid seemed happy. We ordered then and there and 10 weeks later the most beautiful bridesmaid dresses arrived, perfect in every way. Thank you Maids to Measure your service is second to none.
Cathy - 11/01/2016
Absolutely love our dresses!    
I decided to visit Maids to Measure as I was struggling to find a high street dress that all my bridesmaids (I have 4) liked. We arranged a viewing in the evening so my bridesmaids could visit after work. We were immediately put at ease with Sinclair's (one of the owners) friendly and bubbly personality. She had laid out some little cakes and offered us some bubbly - such a nice surprise and treat after a busy day at work. We talked through the type of wedding we are having and what sort of dresses we had in mind. We were then invited to try on a complete range of dresses so we could see what style / colour suited my bridesmaids and what they liked. I had quite a specific idea on what I thought I wanted, however after seeing the girls in another style and how good they looked - we ended up going for something different. Overall really impressed with the colour, quality and efficiency, I would definitely recommend! Thanks so much Maids to Measure.
Kirsten - 29/10/2015
Beautiful Bridesmaids    
We used Maids to Measure for my sisters wedding in May and had the most wonderful experience. Not all the bridesmaids could attend and the girls at Maids to Measure allowed us to Skype them in and made the whole experience fun and relaxed.

We were a tricky group with girls in South Africa and New Zealand so I was worried how we'd deal with this but Maids to Measure dealt with and managed it beautifully.

All the girls had their dresses sent directly to them and each girl was over the moon, I was so so happy with the dresses and they looked beautiful, I really couldn't recommend Maids to Measure more highly.
Bridget - 18/06/2015
Amazing!     
I loved every bit of my Maids to Measure experience. I had a very relaxed bride who picked a theme rather than a specific dress. The two other bridesmaids had already chosen their dresses so I was challenged with complementing them (no easy task!). Using Maids to Measure gave me so many options. I chose a pale grey vintage dress but wanted it midi length. The team at Maids to Measure were really lovely and accommodating and adjusted the patterns to suit. I got lots of compliments on the day.

I am also passionate about trying to buy ethically and the fact that the dresses are individually made in Britain supports this. You may pay a little more but it was so worth it to know that no one suffered making my dress. All in all it was a really fantastic personal experience and I would totally recommend!
Katie - 10/06/2015
Superb    
Bridesmaid dress shopping is tricky and every boutique I visited seemed only be interested in the bridal dress and the bridesmaid dresses simply an add on. Maids to Measure at last was a bridesmaid heaven - a super cool space in an old gasworks.
We arrived to champagne and cake and the girls straight away felt compfortable with such friendly girls there to greet us.

The dresses were slightly more than I wanted to spend but to find dresses that my 6 bridesmaids loved, it was worth it! The dresses are made in London and beautiful quality and couldnt be more thankful to Maids to Measure for creating such a fun experience and perfect dresses - thank you!! EW x
Elizabeth Willder - 30/05/2015
Bad customer service     
Bridesmaid dress shopping is not particularly fun, we tried a number of shops and all of them offered poor dress selection and even poorer quality. Eventually we decided to go to maids to measure, they are based inside a warehouse in an industrial estate- there was a lack of privacy inside and the dresses to trial were filthy.
Given the previous poor dress selction in other shops we decided to brave it. Since that moment the service has been very poor, they have made it very clear that they do not particularly value the custom and if we aren't happy we are welcome to look elsewhere. When my bridesmaid went to the fitting she also found that the shop assistant had not kept a record of the dress and seemed confused about who was the bride and who was the bridesmaid. As seems to be the way with all things wedding related- greedy companies trying to make money out of what should be a very special day! Definitely wont be recommending them.
Stacey - 15/04/2015
Excellent    
With 5 fussy bridesmaids I thought I was going to have my work cut out but actually and surprisingly I enjoyed the experience thanks to Maids to Measure.

We'd decided to travel to their London shop rather than a stockist nearby and after initially having a little trouble finding it (its in an old gasworks) we entered girl heaven! We were welcomed with champagne and cakes and friendly staff who straight away made us feel at home. The experience in itself was a treat and although all the girls were different sizes there was plenty to try to give us all an idea of different styles and enough options so the girls could have unique dresses.

I don't think the girls enjoyed getting measured, but the results were worth it. Some opted for the off peg service, as week day fittings werent possible but the girls that needed and wanted the full made to measure service needed relatively few fittings and alterations and the result was perfectly fitting dresses that just wouldnt have been possible with high street dresses. I recommend going to see the girls at the studio as they knew what the best options were for each girl and also helped them choose necklines and designs that best suit their shape.

The dresses made were beautiful, very high quality. From start to finish the service was professional and friendly and I look forward to my visit next month with one of my bridesmaids whose now getting married, so my turn.
Julie Cockburn - 20/02/2015
The Best    
Firstly I love that its a British company dresses all made in the UK and the only one I could find, sustainability is important to me and its amazing how hard it is to find any companies conscious of this in the wedding industry.

The dresses are beautiful, the service is second to none and the quality is stunning. Couldn't recommend enough.

Amanda Higgins - 20/02/2015
Please do not waste your money.....    
We bought 6 bridesmaid dresses from Maids to Measure after going to one of their representatives in Cardiff. We chose not to have the dresses to be custom fit, but rather the representative measured my bridesmaids and allocated each of them to the most fitting size. We had to pay for the dresses in full at the time of order which my parents were very unhappy about (I didn't even do that with my wedding gown)! When the dresses did come the were HUGE (about 2-3 sizes too big) on each of my bridesmaids. I spoke to the company over the phone and they basically said it wasn't their fault (well it certainly wasn't mine)! I knew they would need some fitting but we took them to a independent seamstress who said that she really couldn't do much with them and that each dress would literally need unpicking and starting again with the material. The seamstress even said that she would back us up by what she had told us and advised us to try to get our money back. I explained how unhappy I was to Maids to Measure but they regularly ignored my messages, my calls etc. It wasn't until I was literally chasing them every day that they started to come up with some ideas of getting smaller sizes for a few of them (even though they would have been cut from a different material roll). It got to the point where I gave up on them, was so furious that I could not be happy with my bridesmaids wearing their dresses. I called up the older sister (one of the owners) and explained I had completely lost faith in their company - and no longer wanted to do business with them. We lost approximately 1200 altogether! I bought the TwoBirds dresses in the end which were AMAZING and 100% better in everyway than Maids to Measure.
Please don't make the same mistake I did....
Isadora Stathers - 15/01/2015
Brill    
What fun and what a great bunch of girls! loved the experience and the dresses, couldnt recommend more.
Hanna - 28/04/2014
Excellent    
I dont often write reviews but felt the need because of the pure brilliance of Maids to Measure, from start to finish we were simply impressed.

Our appointment at their studio was fun and seemed like an extension of the hen, being treated to champagne at the appointment for the first time we all felt relaxed and enjoyed choosing our dresses. Whilst the studio is slightly tricky to find, it being hid away made it feel more like a secret we had uncovered.

When the dresses arrived, much sooner than I had expected we went to a fitting at their workshop and i was blown away with how the girls looked, simply stunning and everything I could have wished for, Id chosen different colours for the girls and I was slightly nervous with how they would look together but I just couldnt have been happier.

The quality of the dresses was simply superb and the alterations lady was very patient with the girls even though one had forgotten her shoes. Their can do attitude was refreshing and we felt confident throughout. The result was the most amazing bridesmaids dresses i could have wished for and recommend them to anyone that wants a stress free experience.
Claire - 28/01/2014
Excellent Experience    
With 5 very different shaped bridesmaids, I was tearing my hair out trying to get them dresses they all liked and suited. I then discovered the new company Maids to Measure and it was the answer to all my prayers.
Not only did we have such a lovely fun experience on the day letting the girls feel they were creating dresses to suit them but, when the dresses arrived I and the girls were over the moon, a few alterations later the girls had perfectly fitting dresses they all felt comfortable and beauitful in. Beautifully made and fantastic can do service.
Perfect soloution to fussy bridesmaids - would hightly recommend
Poppy - 06/06/2013
Bridesmaid dresses that don't fit!    
Maids to Measure sounds like the perfect answer for providing reasonably priced bridesmaid dresses at that are made to measure. However, from my experience with them these dresses are most certainly not made to measure as they didn't fit! In particular one of my bridemaid's dresses was too small at the first fitting and I was assured that they could let it out (this is a slim girl who had definately not changed shape since being measured). However, on picking up the altered dresses, which were only ready 10 days before the wedding, we discovered it was still way too small to the point that the seams were splitting. Also each dress came with a sash and each sash had a seam down the middle at the front! Maids to Measure said they would rectify the situation and would make up a new dress with just 1 week to go. They re-measured my bridesmaid but the dress arrived 2 days before the wedding and it was far too big and about 4 inches too long. The sashes arrived a foot shorter than the original ones and an inch wider which looked ridiculous on grown up bridesmaids. They re-sent the sashes again after recieving exact measurements from me but they turned up the day before the wedding 1 metre too long!! They all had to be wrapped around each girl several times and bridesmaid with the dress which was now far too big had to have 2 rows of safety pins down her back!! These dresses cost me 225 each and they have now put their prices up to 255. Personally I think this is way over the odds for dresses that are not made to measure. I am not the only person who has had this problem, and I would advise people to be very careful about using this company (have an emergency dressmaker on hand!) as it was an extrememly stressful experience, the only stressful experience in the build up to my wedding.
Millie Mitchell - 07/12/2012
Web Hosting by Storm Internet